About the AAUW

The AAUW is a non-profit organization founded in 1881 that advances equity for women and girls by promoting advocacy, education, and research. The AAUW provides millions of dollars annually in fellowships, grants, and scholarships for women.

The Scholarships

There are currently several fellowships, project grants and scholarships for women available through AAUW. The award amounts and deadlines vary. Most scholarships are region specific, provided by a specific regional branch of AAUW, and are commonly reserved for women residing and attending school in that area. Below are some examples, however, there are many branches of AAUW and other branches may offer scholarships. Contact your local branch to ask about region specific scholarships and get more information.

AAUW Educational Foundation International Fellowships – $30,000

This fellowship covers full-time graduate and postgraduate study or research in the United States for women who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Applicants must have earned the equivalent of a U.S. bachelor’s degree by September of the year they are applying for and must have already applied to their proposed institution of study prior to submitting the application. All fields of study may apply, but preference is given to women who show prior commitment to the advancement of women and girls through civic, community, or professional work. Awards may be renewable for a second year.

AAUW International Project Grants – $7,000

This award is a continuation of the International Fellowship. After fellows return home, they may apply for International Project Grants to fund projects that benefit women and girls in the fellow’s home country. The applicant must have successfully completed an AAUW International Fellowship and be a citizen of a country other than the United States. The project must be implemented in the applicant’s home country and have a direct, positive impact on women and girls.

AAUW Lew Williams Scholarship and Leila Sulkes Scholarship – $2,000

This award is offered by the Freehold Branch of AAUW.Applicants must be a female at least 25 years of age; reside in one of the following communities: Colts Neck, Englishtown, Farmingdale, Freehold Borough, Freehold Township, Howell, Manalapan, Marlboro, Morganville in New Jersey.Applicants must have at least a 3.0 GPA and be enrolled in a bachelor’s degree program or a master’s degree program.

AAUW Reading Branch Graduate Scholarship – $2,000

This award is offered by the Reading, PA branch of AAUW, whichhas established a Graduate Scholarship Fund to annually award scholarships to Berks County women who are pursuing full or part-time graduate study. Candidates must be Berks County natives or residents.

AAUW Return to Learning Scholarships – $2,500

This scholarship is provided by the Lombard Area Branch of AAUW in Illinois. The “Return to Learning” scholarship is meant to assist awardees in completing an undergraduate or master’s degree, or a certification program. Students must reside in Lombard, Villa Park, Oakbrook Terrace, Wheaton, Addison, Glendale Heights or Glen Ellyn, Illinois in order to apply and must be continuing college after a significant interruption. Special consideration is given to women who demonstrate strong academics, financial need, and an interest in a STEM field of study.

AAUW Scholarship for Morris County NJ Women – $3,000

The Mountain Lakes Area Branch of AAUW provides scholarships for local female students in higher education. It is intended for women who are entering their third year of college or in graduate school and who reside in Morris County, New Jersey.

AAUW’s Re-Entry Scholarship – $1,800

The Women’s Re-Entry Scholarship is awarded by the Poway-Peñasquitos Branch of the AAUW in California. It is intended for women returning to a school of higher education to complete her education. Applicants must be female, have a high school diploma or GED, and be 23 years of age or older without a bachelor’s or advanced degree. Applicants must live or attend a school in north San Diego County.